Four Pieces for Lent: A New Handbell Collection

Lent is a season of reflection, sacrifice, and cleansing. “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

To honor this sacred season of the church year, I created Four Pieces for Lent - a digital collection of four pieces for 2-3 octave handbells (12-19 bells). These pieces are designed to add a creative element into your services.

The collection includes a solo arrangement of “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross,” a processional for 12 bells (seven players), a hymn descant for “Fairest Lord Jesus,” and a solo setting of “What Wondrous Love Is This” for 12 bells and solo instrument.

Performance notes are included for each piece.

Want to peek inside? Here are a few sample pages from the collection:

*Please note: This is a digital download product. No physical music will be mailed to you.
Your purchase includes a license to print as many copies as you need for your handbell ensemble.

What’s Included:

Lenten Processional

The reflective nature of this piece works well during the season of Lent, and the piece can be easily played without music. Each player has a simple one measure pattern that is repeated. The piece could be rung standing in place or while processing.

Fairest Lord Jesus

A simple and meaningful descant to be used on one or two verses of the hymn, to add to the congregational singing experience. The descant matches the traditional harmony found in most hymnals (e.g. UMH, Glory to God).

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross

This simple, yet powerful setting of the well-known hymn would be a wonderful addition to your Lent or Holy Week services. Following a soft introduction, the first verse begins simply, gradually expanding with richer and deeper harmonies. A brief interlude connects to the second verse, featuring a treble descant and new, interesting harmonies.

What Wondrous Love Is This

This simple, plaintive arrangement of “What Wondrous Love Is This” works well throughout the Lenten season and during Holy Week. A somber, reflective setting of the old hymn tune, WONDROUS LOVE, the piece is scored for 12 bells and a solo instrument. Includes a solo part transposed for the following instruments: violin, flute, oboe, clarinet in Bb, trumpet in Bb, alto saxophone, and tenor saxophone.

Four Pieces for Lent

A digital collection for 2-3 octave handbells (12-19 bells), featuring four short pieces for your Lenten worship services. *Includes a license to print and copy as many copies as you need for your ensemble.

To learn more about Four Pieces for Lent and purchase your copy, click here. Questions? Feel free to reach out to me via email. I’m happy to answer them!